Posted in General

Redefining Nothing

During the last Holy Week, I neither went out of town nor travelled out of the country. I decided to stay closer to the house to give myself a chance to rest, catch up on my reading, and clean my closet. I also tried reflecting, which is what one does anyway during this period of spiritual reconciliation.

It wasn’t until Easter Sunday, when I read a newspaper article and when I attended mass, that I realized I’ve slid back into defining who I am in terms of my job. God has blessed me with other ‘talents’ to work on, yet it’s my career that I keep turning to for solace from disappointments, hurts, and perhaps loneliness. At an age where most of my peers are married, have found partners of their own, are raising children, or have moved out of the country, I’m still unattached. I have no one else to worry about except my parents. No one else to fuss over except my nephews. I should consider myself fortunate.

Last Sunday, the priest kept us riveted to the pulpit and in stitches during his homily. He said people often associate the words “no one,” “nothing” or “gone” with something negative or unpleasant. “I lost my job.” “My girlfriend (or boyfriend) and I broke up. I’ve no one.” “I don’t have money.” And so on.

People wallow in pity when they have nothing, thinking they’re a hopeless case. They find it difficult to associate loss or emptiness with happiness. Others might think you’re going off the edge if you laugh off an unfortunate incident, the priest said in jest.

However, there could be a reason to celebrate if one loses a job, girlfriend (boyfriend), money or the clothes on one’s back. That means a better job will come along! A better partner/ companion will come along! Maybe someone else needed money more than you do and that’s why you lost what you had.

(Sidebar: I, myself, thought I had forever lost a watch which has been with me for over 10 years. It turned up while I was rearranging the closet. Nobody needed the old watch, but it’s obvious I *should* keep that closet clutter-free more often!)

After mass, I felt somewhat relieved that there could be a reason why at the moment, I only have parents and nephews to think about. It could mean that I should use this chance to develop the other aspects of myself – spiritual, emotional, mental, and physical – to call myself whole. Work is just one facet of life.

Happy Easter!

