Posted in General

Team Toolbox: The 10 Reasons Why We Fail

http://www.forbes.com/sites/daviddisalvo/2012/08/07/the-10-reasons-why-we-fail/

Can you recall a time when you wanted something so badly, say, getting a much-coveted job or winning someone’s affection or acing a test or going on a trip?

Did you or did you not get what you want? What made the difference?

Years ago, when I applied for a group study exchange program sponsored by a local Rotary club, I knew I “had” to get in. Not only because it would mean a free trip to Europe or the US, but I also wanted to follow in my dad’s footsteps. (He and his team went to West Virginia in 1978.)

To cut a long story short, I got into the program because from the get-go, I believed I’ll be part of that team. And that’s the key: it’s one thing to want something and another to believe that you’ll get what you want. If we cannot convince ourselves that we deserve what we aspire for, the Universe will not comply either.

There are other reasons shared by the author, David DiSalvo (@neuronarrative), in “The 10 Reasons Why We Fail,” but the above-mentioned is an example of reason no. 1 – Like Yoda said, you just don’t believe it.

Happy reading. Keep believing!

Source: Forbes.com
First published: 8 August 2012

