Posted in Communication, Writing

Three Messages for Three Strangers

I hope all of you had a wonderful Christmas celebration.

On Christmas Day this year, I was late for the morning masses because when I woke up, I decided then and there to write and leave holiday messages for three strangers. Why three? It was an experiment; I’ve never done anything like this before.

Writing three different messages was challenging. I had to pretend I was addressing each to different people. Deciding where inside the church* to leave them was even more thought-provoking because I wanted the right persons to pick them up. Not by the door because someone might make a fan of the card. Not by the statues of the saints (with all due respect to all of them) because the cards might look like chain letters.

This is tough. Think harder.

In the end, I dropped off the cards in different locations, but all in the box above the pew. I noticed people are more likely to take something out of the box, especially if it’s of interest to them and no one else seems to own it. I imagine the person who’ll see one of the cards will do the same thing.

I’ll never meet these strangers who I went through hoops for. In hindsight, I must’ve looked comical flitting from one pew to the next, looking for that right spot to leave a message. But it doesn’t matter. Strangers also need a well-timed encouragement just like you and I do.

More blessings for you and your family in the coming year!

Do any of you have something similar to share? Please do.

*Church – This being Christmas Day, it’s the best place to leave holiday messages in.

First published: 28 December 2012

