Posted in General

The Power of Words

“Sometimes, all it takes is a piece of paper and a few words to get you where you want to go.”

image-notebook-stocksnap
Image of notebook and pen courtesy of StockSnap

Do you like making lists? I do! So much so that there are times, I would even write specific things like “bring the camera for taking photos downtown” or “buy Henry’s (our puppy) favorite toy.” I like making lists because I have “many things on my plate,” and if I don’t write down what I need to do, I’ll easily forget them no matter how important they are.

Similarly, I keep a list of goals for the year, and it contains the usual “travel this year” and “jog more often” and “eat more fruits.” Sometimes, these goals become realities. Like that time I wrote down “Travel to Tokyo to see classmates again.” It did happen! Other times, some goals repeatedly fall through the cracks. “Eat more fruits,” for instance. It keeps showing up on my list year after year.

One might be inclined to ask, “So why do you keep writing it if you never follow through?” Good question, and the answer is because it keeps my want-to’s from becoming someday’s.

I believe in the power of words and seeing words in front of me. As long as I am reminded of a goal, I get a mental kick to do something about it soon . . . like next week or this week or tomorrow. But not someday.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt, Someday.

